Release cover
Release cover


  1. Fell
  2. Whatever Remains
  3. Bad Dreams
  4. The Flood
  5. Mary Lee
  6. Sacramento Avenue
  7. The Llama
  8. Polliwog's Lament
  9. Orange Crush
  10. Thom Li

Buy The CD


The youngest of four children, Rose Polenzani was born into a Midwestern family that valued music above all things. The prize of the household was an ornate baby grand was no mistake that the children grew up to have music as a major part of their lives (Rose's brother Matthew sings with the Metropolitan Opera). In 1995, Rose left school so she could concentrate on songwriting, immersing herself for two years in the Chicago open-mic scene and a hand -me-down four-track machine. She was a local girl until 1997.

Her first tour took her to the Northeast in November of 1997. Within and winning a slot in the 1998 summer Lilith Fair. Balanced on the brink of 60's folk literacy and modern adult alternative, Rose has been able to straddle the largely streamlined music scene, opening for acts such as David Gray, Kristin Hersh, and Vic Chestnutt, as natural in a rock club as a coffeehouse. Despite her attention to lyrics, it's her voice that captures an audience and brings them to a hush, as the Minneapolis City Pages put forth: "[Rose's] ever-shifty and never precious vocal presence must have been long cultivated to arrive in public so fully formed."

The 2001 self-titled release is Rose's second record on Daemon, the follow up to her critically acclaimed 1999 release "Anybody". It is her first full-length studio effort of all new material. Anybody was a compilation of early demos and homemade four-track recording; this new self-titled release brings us a collection of songs that show growth and expansion, using instrumentation to the songs fullest advantage. While it features Rose's first band material, it is not without some signature acoustic moments.

More releases from this artist.