Release cover
Release cover


  1. The Crazies
  2. I Know Everything
  3. 9 Fingers
  4. Beasts of the Field
  5. Preston Rose
  6. Wingtip Sheriff
  7. Learning to Dance
  8. Not Dead (Yet)
  9. Labor of Circles
  10. Everybody Falls
  11. Peter's Song
  12. Climbin' Tree

Buy The CD


Get out the moonshine and jam on the songs of Alphadog Haynes Brooke. The New Mongrels features an eclectic gathering of musicians such as Indigo Girls, Michelle Malone, Big Fish Ensemble, Gherkin and Gerard McHugh.

They're based in Seattle. And Los Angeles. And Atlanta. Their founding member died of old age in 1929. What gives with this band? I'm Haynes Brooke, sometimes known as the founder of the New Mongrels. Except I'm not so much the "founder" as the "finder" of the Mongrels. It all started with my great-great grandfather Henry. Deaf in one ear, shell-shocked, a 17 year old veteran of the Civil War, Henry had founded the Smythe County Mongrels' Society back in 1866. He stated that the Mongrels' purpose was "the joyful promotion of song and rhythmic utterance." Apparently, the group met to drink hard cider and sing the entire book of Psalms to improvised melodies. Dogs and instruments were welcome. Great-great grandpa rocked.

In the mid 1990's I brought the group back to life as the New Mongrels using the original charter of 1866, which has created an ongoing organizational nightmare, but much great music. Members of the Mongrels include Indigo Girls, Gherkin, Michelle Malone, De De Vogt, Cowboy Envy, Big Fish Ensemble, Gerard McHugh, Caroline Aiken, and the now-legendary Dudley Manlove Quartet. The New Mongrels’ first release, Not Dead (Yet) came out in 1995.

Who's Saying What

"The vocals on Not Dead (Yet) are downright gorgeous, with Brooke singing on every track with stellar support. There are shades of Uncle Tupelo's uncluttered instrumentation and Michelle Shocked's detailed type of storytelling. But, The New Mongrels really deserve their own category; this is a slice of Americana at its tastiest."

Main Line Welcomat

More releases from this artist.